Spring City and Royersford Through Time

Author(s): William C. Brunner

ISBN: 9781625451330
Copies:
Sale
-30%
$14.00 $20.00
A fascinating look at the history of Spring City and Royersford revealing some of many changes and developments over the last century.
Trust Badge
From the early 1800s there was a need for people to travel between the two settlements that were separated by the Schuylkill River. In 1839, the opening of the railroad in Royersford increased that desire and resulted in the first bridge being built just one year later in 1840. Although this covered wooden bridge was washed away in a flood ten years later, it was replaced immediately with another similar wooden structure. 

In 1884, a fire burned down this bridge. The twin boroughs, dependent on this vital connecting link, built an iron bridge that was dubbed “The Permanent Bridge.”

In 1922, this iron bridge was condemned due to rust and a new concrete bridge was erected. Although the concrete bridge has been reconditioned several times, it still serves the communities today with a constant flow of cars and trucks crossing over daily.

BOOK ISBN 9781625451330
FORMAT 235 x 165 mm
BINDING Paperback
PAGES 96 pages
PUBLICATION DATE 15 November 2014
TERRITORY World
ILLUSTRATIONS 92 black-and-white and 92 colour photographs

 

 






 

William C. Brunner.