Glamorgan CCC 1888-2012: Changing Faces

Author(s): Andrew Hignell 

ISBN: 9781781550700
£10.49 £14.99
Photographs and stories featuring players from theearly days of the Club up to the present day.
Trust Badge
In the 1970s the main UK bus groups were the National Bus Company, the Scottish Bus Group, the Passenger Transport Executives and various council owned concerns. Today we have Stagecoach, First and Arriva, plus several smaller groups, with just a handful of councils still owning bus operations.

Throughout these major changes to the bus industry, there have been hundreds of smaller independent bus companies running stage carriage services on the roads of the United Kingdom. In this book we look at these, from the small operators with just one or two buses, to the larger fleets, such as Lancashire United.

Many independent companies have, since the 1970s, been swallowed up by larger groups one or two have ceased trading. However, many are still thriving and other operators have taken the place of those that we’ve lost. Deregulation in 1986 brought a host of new bus operators, competing for business with the companies that had run their services for many years. Inevitably, there were some casualties, but today the independent bus sector is alive and well.

This purpose of this book is to illustrate the great variety of independent buses that has graced Britain’s roads, from the early 1970s to the present day.

BOOK ISBN 9781781550700
FORMAT 235 x 165 mm
BINDING Paperback
PAGES 96 pages
ILLUSTRATIONS 92 black-and-white and 92 colour photographs



Andrew Hignell is archivist to Glamorgan CCC, and the leading authority on the history of cricket in Wales. He has previously written several books on Glamorgan CCC.