Operation Big Ben: The Anti-V2 Spitfire Missions

Author(s): Craig Cabell 

ISBN: 9781781554395
£14.00 £20.00
Witness one of the British military’s finest moments and most covert operations against Hitler’s Nazi Germany.
Trust Badge
  • Appreciate the panic the V2 rockets had on the great minds of Whitehall

  • How brave soldiers, airmen and the French Resistance gathered important intelligence regarding storage depots and firing points of V2s behind enemy lines

  • All the details about the dive-bombing Spitfire missions sent to counter the V2 rocket threat

In heavy cloud, under intense flak and with little training, specially commissioned clipped-winged Spitfires dive-bombed V2 rockets sites, supply lines and storage depots in one of the most complex and crucial secret operations of the Second World War. With the help of the French and Dutch resistance, 30 Assault Unit, a crack team of commandos created by Ian Fleming, and the support of disinformation from the Joint Planning Staff of the War Cabinet, including the work of novelist Dennis Wheatley, British, Polish, Australian and Canadian Spitfire squadrons brought down the weight of V1 and V2 rocket strikes on the civilian population of London and the home counties.

Winston Churchill saw the panic of the British civilian and politicians alike, but had no way to counter the threat. However, through innovation and sheer bravery, a way forwards was created. Now read the intricacies of Operation Big Ben: The Anti-V2 Spitfire Missions.

BOOK ISBN 9781781554395
FORMAT 234 x 156 mm
BINDING Hardback
PAGES 208 pages
ILLUSTRATIONS 16 black-and-white photographs



Craig Cabell is the author of over fifty books, including biography, history, true crime and fiction. His books such as The Kray Brothers – The Image Shattered and Killing Kennedy have proved to be hugely influential and include intricate ballistic information previously unappreciated. His book The History of 30 Assault Unit – Ian Fleming’s Red Indians inspired the film Age of Heroes that starred Sean Bean and Danny Dyer. His series of crime novels featuring antiquarian book dealer Jason Maccleson include A Pharaoh’s Last Secret and The Kennedy Assassins.